April 23, 2024
Featured Lahore

COVID-19: Universities of nine cities including Lahore closed for physical attendance

CT Newsroom

The Higher Education Commission (HEC) has restricted the higher education institutes (HEIs) and universities located in Islamabad, Lahore, Peshawar, Rawalpindi, Gujrat, Sialkot, Multan, Gujranwala and Faisalabad for the physical attendance of the students from March 15-28, 2021 due to an increase in the COVID-19 cases.

The HEC has also clarified that all the HEIs and universities will keep on conducting online classes during these holidays.

It has further announced that all the on-going and pre-planned examinations will be held as per the schedule but with proper observance of the standard operating procedures (SOPs).

However, the commission has asked the universities to ensure the minimum health and safety protocols i.e. walk-through sanitizing gates, facemasks, social distancing, regular use of sanitizers and cleansing of the buildings.