April 22, 2024
Featured National

May 10-15, govt announces six public holidays on Eid-ul-Fitr


The government has announced six public holidays on the occasion of Eid-ul-Fitr. The citizens will enjoy the holidays from the 10th of May to the 15th of May.

On Tuesday, government, in a bid to curb coronavirus spread in the country, had decided to close all tourist resorts, public parks and hotels in and around tourist spots during Eid-ul-Fitr holidays.

According to the circular issued by the Interior Ministry, inter-city and inter-provincial transport will be banned during Eid holidays; however, locals especially of Gilgit Baltistan (GB) will be allowed to travel.

The ministry further directed that routes leading to tourist spots will be closed with special focus on Murree, Galliyat, Swat-Kalam, Sea View/beaches and Northern Areas.

Interior Ministry had also directed to ensure timely issuance of SOPs / guidelines for Itekaf, Shab-e-Qadar, Jumma-tul-Wda and Namaz-e-Eid.

Earlier, National Command and Operation Center (NCOC) on Monday proposed the government to announce week-long Eid holidays from May 10 to May 16.

According to sources, the proposal for week-long holidays has been sent to the Ministry of Interior. The ministry will make a decision and then send its proposal to the federal cabinet for the final decision.

According to a notification issued by the interior ministry on Monday, the number of public holidays on the occasion of Eid-ul-Fitr will be six. The holidays will last from May 10 to May 15, explains the notification.


More about No power on earth can undo CPEC